There are several special cases where members of the military are allowed exemption from the law that requires your vehicle to be registered in the State of Alaska. Qualifications that must be met for those exemptions are listed below:
REQUIREMENTS FOR MILITARY EXEMPTION
1. NON-ALASKAN RESIDENTS STATIONED OUTSIDE OF ALASKA:
Residents of other states who are no longer stationed in Alaska should register their vehicles:
- In their home state of record OR
- In the state where they are currently living
2. NON-ALASKAN RESIDENTS STATIONED IN ALASKA:
In order to qualify for the military exemption, the applicant must submit the following:
- Vehicle Transaction Application (Form 812) with the “Military” box marked under exemptions
- Leave and Earnings Statement (LES) issued within the past 90 days showing residency outside of Alaska.
A military exemption is available to residents of other states who register their vehicle(s) in Alaska and meet ALL of the following criteria:
- Are stationed in Alaska AND
- Claim residency in another state and are either AND
- Active Duty Military or a Public Health Service employee AND
- Are the sole or joint owner* of the vehicle being registered AND
- Vehicle is not used commercially AND
- Do not hold an Alaska Commercial Driver License (CDL).
*These procedures DO NOT apply to a vehicle owned exclusively by a military dependent or to leased vehicles*
3. ALASKA RESIDENTS
STATIONED IN ALASKA:
- All fees and rules apply as for any other resident of Alaska.
STATIONED OUTSIDE OF ALASKA:
- MUST use their address where they are stationed.
- Do not pay MVRT as long as they are living outside of Alaska and use outside address.
- Must comply with emissions testing program where stationed.
- Must provide Leave and Earnings Statement (LES) issued within the past 90 days showing Alaska as their home of record.